The Asia Foundation Organizes a Watch Party to Celebrate President Eun Mee Kim's Chang-Lin Tien Award


DateNovember 10, 2021






November 10, 2021 - The Asia Foundation presented Dr. Eun Mee Kim, President of Ewha Womans University and board member of the Friends of The Asia Foundation Korea, with the 2021 Chang-Lin Tien Distinguished Leadership Award in San Francisco, U.S on November 10 (Korea time).
President Kim received the award for her commitment to a better Korea and Asia through women’s empowerment and her contributions to international development.


Coinciding with the awards ceremony held in the United States, The Asia Foundation Korea Office organized a Watch Party at the Plaza Hotel in Seoul to celebrate President Kim's award. The event was attended by distinguished guests from Ewha Womans University and friends from Korea's international development cooperation community. 


At this Watch Party, Kook-hyun Moon, Chairman of the Friends of The Asia Foundation Korea and CEO of Hansoll Textile, and Kwang Kim, Korea country representative of The Asia Foundation, gave welcoming remarks. Brendan M. Howe, Dean of Ewha Womans University's Graduate School of International Studies, Kathleen Stephens, President of the Korea Economic Institute of America, and Jin-hyun Kim, former President of University of Seoul gave congratulatory remarks. 

Lastly, former Prime Minister Hong-Koo Lee gave a toast and congratulated President Kim on the award.



Along with President Eun Mee Kim, Japanese cellist Yo-Yo Ma received the President's Leadership Award, and the Rockefeller Foundation received the Philanthropic Leadership Award at this year's awards ceremony.



go top